Water Management Districts

South Florida

Home of the Kissimmee River, Lake Okeechobee, the Everglades, and the Big Cypress Swamp

South Florida Water Management District covers a 16 county area, including Broward, Collier, Dade, Glades, Hendry, Lee, Martin, Monroe, Palm Beach, St. Lucie, and portions of Charlotte, Highlands, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola & Polk  

Southwest Florida

Home of Charlotte Harbor, the Peace River, Tampa Bay and Weeki Wachi Spring

Southwest Florida Water Management District covers a 16 county area including Citrus, DeSoto, Hardee, Hernando, Hillsborough, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas, Sarasota, Sumter, and portions of Charlotte, Highlands, Lake, Levy, Marion & Polk

St Johns River

Home of the St Johns River and Indian River Lagoon

Southwest Florida Water Management District covers a 18 county area including Brevard, Clay, Duval, Flagler, Indian River, Nassau, Seminole, St. Johns, Volusia, and portions of Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Lake, Marion, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola & Putnam Counties

Suwannee River

Home of the Suwannee River, Ichetucknee Springs and Okefenokee Swamp

Suwannee River Water Management District covers a 14 county area including Columbia, Dixie, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Madison, Suwannee, Taylor, Union and portions of Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Jefferson & Levy counties.

Northwest Florida

Home of the Apalachicola River and steephead streams

Northwest Florida Water Management District covers a 14 county area including Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson (western half), Leon, Liberty, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Wakulla, Walton & Washington counties.


FDEP has Florida wide oversight authority on all the water management districts

Did you know that Florida has 67 counties? Now for the tough part: Can you name them all? That’s one of many things we help you master at Go Hydrology!

And yes, the Floridian is artesian!

Primary Aquifers


The Biscayne Aquifer is probably the most famous, but it also includes the Graystone Aquifer and several more including the coastal plain.


This aquifer is most important in the Tampa Bay Region.


The Floridan Aquifer supplies many a freshwater spring and is the primary water supply for central and northern Florida

National Estuary Programs

Coastal and Heartland

Previously known as Charlotte Harbor, it also includes the entire Caloosahatchee River, and more than just an estuary, their work reaches inland to the heartland of the watersheds that feed the coastal estuaries.

The Coastal & Heartland National Estuary Partnership (CHNEP, formerly the Charlotte Harbor National Estuary Program) began when former Florida Governor Chiles submitted a nomination to U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to designate the greater Charlotte Harbor estuarine system as an estuary of national significance. On July 6, 1995, seven nominations were accepted, including the CHNEP.  Now the CHNEP is one of 28 organization nation-wide in the NEP; one of the four in Florida (along with Tampa Bay, Sarasota Bay, and Indian River Lagoon).

Indian River Lagoon

Also known as Indian River Lagoon NEP

The Indian River Lagoon was nominated as an Estuary of National Significance and joined the NEP in 1990 under the sponsorship of the St. Johns and South Florida Water Management Districts and was formally established in 1991. The IRLNEP is part of a national network of twenty-eight estuary programs established under the Federal Clean Water Act and administered nationally by the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

Sarasota Bay NEP

Tampa Bay NEP

Did you know Florida has 3 National Estuarine Research Reserves?


Where Florida’s biggest river meets the Gulf Coast

Rookery Bay

Where Florida’s Gulf Coast and 10,000 Islands merge

St Augustine

Florida’s northeast coastal estuaries.

Did you know Florida has 30 major basins?